10 Free Fiction and Humor Kindle Books

Welcome StumbleUpon visitors.  This free Kindle book posts is now dated and many of the books are no longer free. You can see more recent posts by clicking Here or you can subscribe to my RSS feed or email and get free Kindle books in your inbox.

WoolWool by Hugh Howey

70 pages, 185 of 200 reviews are 4 or 5-star, Lending Enabled

Thousands of them have lived underground. They’ve lived there so long, there are only legends about people living anywhere else. Such a life requires rules. Strict rules. There are things that must not be discussed. Like going outside. Never mention you might like going outside.

Or you’ll get what you wish for.

Ketchup is a Vegetable: And Other Lies Moms Tell Themselves

Ketchup is a Vegetable: And Other Lies Moms Tell Themselves by Robin O’Bryant

266 pages, 96 of 101 reviews are 5-star, Lending Enabled

If you don’t have anything nice to say about motherhood, then… read this book. Robin O’Bryant offers a no holds barred look at the day to day life of being a mother to three, running a household and the everyday monotony of parenting.

It’s not always pretty but it’s real. Whether she’s stuffing cabbage in her bra… dealing with defiant yet determined daughters… yelling at the F.B.I… or explaining the birds and the bees to her preschooler… you’re sure to find dozens of humorous and relatable situations.

From the creator of Robin’s Chicks, one of the South’s most popular blogs on motherhood, misunderstandings and musings, comes a collection of essays that will not only make you laugh and cry, but realize that you’re not alone in your journey.

Forgetting English: Stories

Forgetting English: Stories by Midge Raymond

117 pages, 20 of 21 reviews are 4 or 5-star, Lending Enabled

Forgetting English explores the indelible imprint of home upon identity and the ways in which new frontiers both defy and confirm it. From a biologist navigating the icy moonscape of Antarctica to a businesswoman seeking refuge in the South Pacific, the characters who inhabit these stories travel for business and for pleasure, out of duty and in search of freedom, and each comes face-to-face with the unexpected.

Midge Raymond’s short fiction has been featured in the Los Angeles Times magazine, American Literary Review, North American Review, the Ontario Review, Witness, and others. She holds an MA from Boston University’s College of Communication, where she taught for six years, and has also worked as an editor and copywriter. She now lives in Seattle, where she teaches at Richard Hugo House.

Bring on the Blessings

Bring on the Blessing by Beverly Jenkins

383 pages, 60 of 69 reviews are 4 or 5-star, Lending Enabled, Previously Free

On Bernadine Brown’s fifty-second birthday she received an unexpected gift—she caught her husband, Leo, cheating with his secretary. She was hurt—angry, too—but she didn’t cry woe is me. Nope, she hired herself a top-notch lawyer and ended up with a cool $275 million. Having been raised in the church, she knew that when much is given much is expected, so she asked God to send her a purpose.

The purpose turned out to be a town: Henry Adams, Kansas, one of the last surviving townships founded by freed slaves after the Civil War. The failing town had put itself up for sale on the Internet, so Bernadine bought it.

Trent July is the mayor, and watching the town of his birth slide into debt and foreclosure is about the hardest thing he’s ever done. When the buyer comes to town, he’s impressed by her vision, strength, and the hope she wants to offer not only to the town and its few remaining residents, but to a handful of kids in desperate need of a second chance.

Not everyone in town wants to get on board though; they don’t want change. But Bernadine and Trent, along with his first love, Lily Fontaine, are determined to preserve the town’s legacy while ushering in a new era with ties to its unique past and its promising future.

Queen of Cities

321 pages, 19 of 20 reviews are 4 or 5-star, Lending Enabled
1453 – An army is marching. The Turkish sultan, Mehmed, brilliant, and ambitious, has declared war on Constantinople. In Queen of Cities, ANDREW NOVO evokes an age of armored heroes and high-walled cities, of Machiavellian mistresses and scheming politicians, of religious conflict and the clash of empires.
With the scrupulous eye of an historian, the author reveals a city caught in a life and death struggle, targeted for conquest by the world’s most powerful man. The stone, silk, and steel of the fifteenth century come to life in an epic drama that reverberates in our own time.

The battle rages on land and sea with deadly machines of destruction. In this conflict, the fate of two civilizations, two faiths, and Constantinople, the Queen of Cities, will be decided.

River in the Sea

307 pages, 30 of 31 reviews are 4 or 5-star, Lending Enabled

When a German soldier’s dog bolts in front of Leen’s truck, in a fraction of a second, she must make a choice: brake hard, or hit the gas.She floors it.

What happens next sets off a chain of events that pitches Leen, just 15, and her family against the German forces when they are most desperate – and fierce. Leen tries to hold her family together, but despite her efforts, bit by bit everything falls apart.

And just when Leen experiences a horrific loss, she must make a decision that could forever brand her a traitor, yet finally allow her to live as her heart desires.

A great choice for fans of Stones From the River, The Book Thief, Those Who Save Us, and Sarah’s KeyRiver in the Sea is a tale of first love, tragedy, intrigue and betrayal.

352 pages, 14 of 18 reviews are 5-star
Arriving on a lush Pacific island, Eulalie Grace LaRue was soon to be reunited with the father she hadn’t seen since childhood. Yet before Lollie’s dreamed-of meeting could take place, the lovely Southern belle was caught in the crossfire of a violent revolution — and thrown into the rugged arms of Sam Forester.On the run in the jungle, the battle-scarred soldier of fortune didn’t know what to do with the pampered blonde placed in his care. Survival was his top priority, but he could not resist Lollie’s seductive charm…or deny the growing attraction between them. Though Sam thrived on chance and risk, falling in love was the one chance he wasn’t willing to take.Powerless against the desire that consumed them both, Lollie surrendered to his passionate embrace. But when he dismissed her affections, she was determined to fight for him…to prove that in the steamy heat of paradise, two hearts would find the love of a lifetime….

The Rocking Horse

The Rocking Horse by Gloria Zachgo

302 pages, 10 of 10 reviews are 5-star, Lending Enabled

Can a family that has been savagely ripped apart find healing and redemption? Are the mysteries hidden in the human heart destined to reveal themselves? The Rocking Horse, Gloria Zachgo’s spellbinding suspense novel, charts the harrowing emotional journey of one family that is torn asunder, then magically drawn together again.

Jenny Preston has been missing for twenty-two years after being taken at the age of two on the very night her mother Amanda, Aunt Ruth, and Uncle Don were brutally and senselessly murdered. While Jenny’s grandparents learn to cope with the tragedies, the sheriff, Will Barclay, must grapple with his own guilt and secrets involving the murders. The crime, which rocked the small town of Shady Creek, Kansas, has never been solved.

More than two decades later, a woman who calls herself Julie Hendricks is led by a childhood toy to Shady Creek, where she finds refuge from an abusive husband. Living on her own for the first time in her life, she starts to regain her self esteem and make new friends. Her life is then turned upside down again when she discovers she may be the child that was abducted from this very town so many years ago.

With the encouragement of her new friends, and a very special someone, she returns to Chicago to learn the truth of her childhood history from her father. After a gripping turn of events, Julie returns to Shady Creek to wrestle with the emotional complexities of her new life and how her past life is starting to catch up with her. An unexpected hero comes to Julie’s aid.

A story of family, home, and the grave consequences of actions, The Rocking Horse explores the aftermath of the most unimaginable heartache: the disappearance of a child. Fast-paced and full of intrigue, this riveting read mines the depths of the human heart on its road to recovery.

Mozart's Wife

Mozart’s Wife by Juliet Waldron

399 pages, 21 of 21 reviews are 4 or 5-star, Lending Enabled

Giddy sugarplum or calculating bitch? Pretty Konstanze aroused strong feelings among her contemporaries. Her in-law’s loathed her. Mozart’s friends, more than forty years after his death, remained eager to gossip about her “failures” as wife to the world’s first superstar. Maturing from child, to wife, to hard-headed widow, Konstanze would pay Mozart’s debts, provide for their children, and relentlessly market and mythologize her brilliant husband. Mozart’s letters attest to his affection for Konstanze as well as to their powerful sexual bond. Nevertheless, prominent among the many mysteries surrounding the composer’s untimely death: why did his much beloved Konstanze never mark his grave?

That Bear Ate My Pants! Adventures of a real Idiot Abroad

That Bear Ate My Pants by Tony James Slater

303 pages, 10 of 11 reviews are 5-star, Lending Enabled

There comes a time in every man’s life when he says to himself, “Holy Sh*t! I’m about to be eaten by a bear!”

Tony James Slater went to Ecuador, determined to become a man.
It never occurred to him that ‘or die trying’ might be an option…

The trouble with volunteering in a South American animal refuge is that everything wants a piece of you. And the trouble with being Tony, is that most of them got one.

Just how do you ‘look after’ something that’s trying it’s damnedest to kill you and eat you?
And how do you find love when you a) don’t speak the language, and b) are constantly covered in excrement and entrails?

If only he’d had some relevant experience. Other than owning a pet rabbit when he was nine. And if only he’d bought some travel insurance…

That Bear Ate My Pants is the hilarious tale of one man’s quest to better himself. Whether losing a machete fight with a tree, picking dead tarantulas out of a tank of live ones or sewing the head back on to a partially decapitated crocodile, Tony’s misadventures are ridiculous, unbelievable and always entertaining.

_______________

I have not read any of these books, so they may not be any good.  Some of the books from previous Free Book posts are still available for free. If you want to see all free books as they come out you should follow Books on the Knob on their RSS or Twitter Feed. Or Ireaderreview or the many free book threads on Amazon’s Message Boards.  As always please check to make sure the books are still free before you “buy” them, especially from Amazon. Prices can change quickly.  This may be a one day offer. Pick it up quick.

Leave a Reply

Bookwi.se · Mayer Beta By Pressware · Powered By WordPress

%d bloggers like this: